Samsung Series 9 NP900X3A wireless Problems

After installing Ubuntu on my new Samsung Series 9 NP900X3A notebook, I was having massive problems with my wireless connection. The problem was, that the speed of the wireless connection was changing from full speed to transmitting nothing at all. After quite some googling and researching on the web, I found the solution.

gedit /etc/modprobe.d/iwlagn.conf
and add the line:
options iwlagn 11n_disable=1

The wireless controller is from intel… after all, I’m quite happy with the new notebook…

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Samsung Series 9 NP900X3A wireless Problems”

  1. stefon Says:

    if you installed the new ubuntu 12.04 beware: now the iwlwifi module is used for the wlan device. more details can be found here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1929304&page=2

  2. chuqui Says:

    Hi. I am from Chile and really want to buy this notebook: Samsung Series 9 NP900X3A, but I know there are some problems when using Ubuntu, specially with the touchpad.

    What version of Ubuntu are you using? Do you have problems with the touchpad and/or other functionalities?

    Besides, I’d like to get the newer NP900X3B (with a 256 Gb SSD), but I’ve read there are more problems than before… I hope you can give me some information.

    Thanks!

    • stefon Says:

      the touchpad is working fine (i’m using the current kubuntu version, 12.04).

      only problem i had, is that after installing ubuntu, i can’t access the windows installation – maybe i will look into that some time.

      the other thing was that the wireless driver are somewhat fragile (speed is low) – but thats what the blog post is all about *g*

  3. mattrixman Says:

    I’m using the NP900X4C and found this to be helpful as well. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

