What to do with copy protected audio cd’s

Hi guys… Some days ago I told you how I rip my audio cd’s to get my collection onto my computer. But today I got my fingers onto a copy protected audio cd of mine (shame on me, I try not to buy those. it was an accident.. i swear!!). So ripping with konquerror was not working. But there is an easy solution.

Just install KAudioCreator (preferably with your distrubution specific tools e.g. apt-get or rpm based ones). Then insert your cd and start the KAudioCreator. With this program I was able to rip an “enhanced CD”.

11 Responses to “What to do with copy protected audio cd’s”

  1. valentin Says:

    Thank you very much for the tip. Works good. (Damn “enhanced CD’s”.;-))

    One problem I have: The KAudioCreator seems not to find the lame or ogg encoder. Do you know how I can fix this problem?

  2. stefon Says:

    first of all, which linux distribution do you use and what version of kde/kaudicreator do you have installed?
    I don’t have an mp3 encode (like lame) installed because I solely use ogg (because it’s a free encoder and no patents are involved).
    On the config pages I habe one which lets me decide between : oggEnc, Lame, Wave and FLAC. Don’t you have this one?!
    bye stefon

  3. valentin Says:

    I use Debian 3.1r4 and KAudioCreator 1.13, kde 3.5.5. On the config pages I find the same items as you. I just get the error message that the encoder isn’t found when I want to encoder a file to mp3 or ogg. Ripping as wav works without any problems.

  4. stefon Says:

    ohhh ok.. have you installed the ogg packages?!
    apt-cache show vorbis-tools
    Description: several Ogg Vorbis tools
    vorbis-tools contains oggenc (an encoder), ogg123 (a playback tool),
    ogginfo (displays ogg information), oggdec (decodes ogg files), vcut
    (ogg file splitter), and vorbiscomment (ogg comment editor).
    Tag: interface::commandline, role::sw:utility, use::converting, use::playing, works-with::audio:oggvorbis
    Do you have this package installed?!

  5. valentin Says:

    Now I can rip the cd an the files get encoded. (ogg) Now the problem is that I don’t see them in the target directory. If I watch the directory details, the directory should contain 12 files, I also see them when I search (KDE) for them (but the icon is lighter), and I can even play the music.

    Whats wrong? I have permission to access the directory.

    Oh my god, I am such a Linux n00b… 😦

  6. stefon Says:

    This seems to be a bizarre problem *g* When you open konsole, navigate to the directory and make an “ls” do you see the files?
    Maybe you can send me a screenshot of konqueror not showing the files?

  7. valentin Says:

    When I do a “ls” I see nothing.

    A screenshot is already on the way to you.

  8. valentin Says:

    Now I tried Ubuntu 6.10 (“Edgy Eft”), with the same result than with Debian. But when I looked at the directory and let me show the “hidden files” (verborgene Dateien). And, oh my god, I saw the files. 🙂 The question is: Why are the files hidden when the come out of the encoder???

  9. valentin Says:

    I found out what the problem is: The band name begins with “…” (“…And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead”) and is quite long. So the folder is also named beginning with “…”. Quite tricky. I think this was the problem. 🙂

  10. Car Audio King Says:

    You can also try using this program called Tunebite it works really well.

  11. stefon Says:

    tunebit doesn’t seem to be free software and it doesn’t seem to be available for gnu/linux. so this is a no go for me.

Leave a Reply

