Battlestar Galactica

Today I talk about one of my favourite TV series. It is called “Battlestar Galactica“.

As the name suggests it’s a science fiction series. In USA the third season is aired. Why do I like this production that much?It’s not all about science fiction why I like it. I’m not a great fan of Star Trek. Although I like the old star wars movies and think a lot of Stargate episodes are quite fine. I have to admit that big spaceships and future technologies are entertaining.

But what I like MOST is the camera work and the charakter play. The camera is used in a (I think) rather unconventional way. It’s near the charakters and shaky. This gives you the feeling of being in the film and the plot. It doesn’t give you the feeling of seeing a complete steril film.

The second thing I mention are the characters. There are not entirely evil or good. Not black or white. Of course, there are the heroes and the bad guys, but both of them have good and bad traits. So the series can shock you with a quite bad decision of a hero, but the decisions is understandable from the point of view of the person. There are a lot of decision which are not easy to decice and a many problems not easy to solve. So can think a lot about how YOU would have handled the situation.

So after all, I would encourage you to give the series a try. If you like science fiction, interesting characters and some philosophy, chances are good you will love it.

I give it 8/10 Hidden Cyclons

P.S.: Another interesting thing I nearly forgot. The series was filmed in 1978 first and so this is a kind of homage on the old one.

Leave a Reply

