New TFT display…

My three year old (Targe Visionary) TFt display died two days after I got my new computer. After some research on geizhals I decided to take either the HP w22 or the Samsung SyncMaster 931 BF. After seeing both at real in the shop,I bought the HP w22 because of the wide screen. Since I don’t have a TV set, it’s a good substituin. Also I hope that a HP display has a good quality and survive more than 3 or 4 years.

I use it with Debian etch together with the proprietary nvidia kernel drivers. The modeline in the xorg.conf is:

# V-freq: 60.00 Hz // h-freq: 65.35 KHz
Modeline “1680×1050” 149.00 1680 1760 1944 2280 1050 1050 1052 1089

After some days of usage I’m very pleased with the HP w22.

P.S.: I bought it for 350 Euros at MediaMarkt

11 Responses to “New TFT display…”

  1. valentin Says:

    Hello,

    I think the HP is a good choice and think that it will survive longer than 4 years. My Samsung 181T ist about five years old and still works well. When it was released it costed 1670 EUR. OMFG

    Do you have problems with widescreen and linux? Yesterday I tried to get Kubuntu (Edgy) working on my new notebook, a HP 510 with a widescreen display with a resolution of 1280×800. I tried it two hours to configure the xorg.conf. Without any success. When I come home today I wil try it with “sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg”. Hope that this works. You see, I am really a n00b. 🙂

  2. stefon Says:

    did you try it with the free graphic driver or the proprietary one? and did you use modeline?

  3. valentin Says:

    Now I have installed Debian Etch because I think it is simpler.

    I use the ordinary “i810” driver. It is a Intel GMA 900 Graphics Card. I haven’t really understood the usage of modelines. I must say modelines are not easy to understand. The only things I know about my display that the best resolution is 1280×800@60Hz. I don’t know what I should do with “dotclock” and so on. 😦

  4. valentin Says:

    Now I tried to create a modeline and this, sorry, damn xserver always uses 4:3-resolutions even the 1280×800 ist written in the xorg.conf. I simply don’t understand this.

  5. stefon Says:

    can you post your xorg.conf ?

  6. valentin Says:

    Here my xorg.conf. The touchpad is also not working. Synaptics packages are installed.

    # /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type “man /etc/X11/xorg.conf” at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section “Files”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi”
    FontPath “/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi”
    FontPath “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi”
    # path to defoma fonts
    FontPath “/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType”
    EndSection

    Section “Module”
    Load “i2c”
    Load “bitmap”
    Load “ddc”
    Load “dri”
    Load “extmod”
    Load “freetype”
    Load “glx”
    Load “int10”
    Load “vbe”
    EndSection

    Section “InputDevice”
    Identifier “Generic Keyboard”
    Driver “kbd”
    Option “CoreKeyboard”
    Option “XkbRules” “xorg”
    Option “XkbModel” “pc105”
    Option “XkbLayout” “de”
    Option “XkbVariant” “nodeadkeys”
    EndSection

    Section “InputDevice”
    Identifier “Configured Mouse”
    Driver “mouse”
    Option “SHMConfig” “on”
    Option “CorePointer”
    Option “Device” “/dev/input/mice”
    Option “Protocol” “ImPS/2”
    Option “Emulate3Buttons” “true”
    EndSection

    Section “InputDevice”
    Identifier “Synaptics Touchpad”
    Driver “synaptics”
    Option “SendCoreEvents” “true”
    Option “Device” “/dev/psaux”
    Option “Protocol” “auto-dev”
    Option “HorizScrollDelta” “0”
    EndSection

    Section “Device”
    Identifier “Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller”
    Driver “i810”
    BusID “PCI:0:2:0”
    EndSection

    Section “Monitor”
    Identifier “Standardbildschirm”
    Option “DPMS”
    HorizSync 50.66-50.66
    VertRefresh 60-60
    ModeLine “1280×800@60” 83.91 1280 1312 1624 1656 800 816 824 841
    EndSection

    Section “Screen”
    Identifier “Default Screen”
    Device “Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller”
    Monitor “Standardbildschirm”
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 1
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 4
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 8
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 15
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 16
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    SubSection “Display”
    Depth 24
    Modes “1280×800@60”
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section “ServerLayout”
    Identifier “Default Layout”
    Screen “Default Screen”
    InputDevice “Generic Keyboard”
    InputDevice “Configured Mouse”
    InputDevice “Synaptics Touchpad”
    EndSection

    Section “DRI”
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    This is the end of my xorg.conf.

  7. stefon Says:

    look at this link, there is someone who has the intel graphic card with 1280×1024:
    http://www.blogs.uni-erlangen.de/webworking/stories/486/

  8. valentin Says:

    I found a source code for the Intel GMA but I don’t have the energy to start compiling it. I think it can’t be possible that there is no working driver for a graphics card that is used in hundred thousends or millions of computers since a lot of years. It is just frustrating that it is not possible to get a intel graphics card working at the desired resolution or to get a standard touchpad working. 😦 So I will quit the project to install Linux on my notebook for the next months. I want to use it and don’t want to spend an evening after the other trying to get it work with Linux.

  9. stefon Says:

    so use ubuntu and not debian. Or start with Suse.. I’m a happy debian user because I have some experience how I can mantain and install things.
    Take a more “windows style” gnu/linux

  10. valentin Says:

    News from me: In my desperation I found the solution for my problem in the good old overclockers.at-forum. The touchpad ist still unsolved.

    http://www.overclockers.at/linux_bsd_and_others/xorg_will_nicht_auf_1280x800_und_kein_touchpad_war_177956

  11. Joe Battin Says:

    Thanks for the modelines. For some reason, when I rebooted my Gentoo installation after many weeks of enjoying the w22 monitor, X barfed. I used your exact modelines and I was able to get my system back up.

Leave a Reply

