A telephone call with the “Bundeskanzleramt” Austria

Today I called the “Bundeskanzleramt (BKA)” of Austria (telephon number is 0800 222 666).
I called them because I wanted to know why an organization like the “Österreichisches Normungsinstitut (ON)” can be such instransparent (see former posting).

I explained the man on the other line my problem with the ON and why I was calling them. (The ON told me that someone from the BKA was sitting in the board deciding to vote for “yes with comments” on the ISO OOXML fast track ballot).

He seemed to understand to my problem and assured me that he was going to inform himself about the ON and who was in this board and promised me to call back.

Update:
After half an hour he called me back and told me that he has talked with the ON himself. The person he talked with him, couldn’t tell him which rights I have to get
insights into the board. But he suggested that I should call the legal department on the ON to get informed.

Conclusion:
He was quite polite and helpful. Now I have some more numbers to call…

History of this “story” (oldest posting first):
Say “NO” to OOXML
OOXML defeated… for this time…
A call to the ISO member austria

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “A telephone call with the “Bundeskanzleramt” Austria”

  1. Ghillie Suits » A telephone call with the “Bundeskanzleramt” Austria Says:

    […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerpt Today I called the “Bundeskanzleramt (BKA)” of Austria (telephon number is 0800 222 666). I called them because I wanted to know why an organization like the “Österreichisches Normungsinstitut (ON)” can be such instransparent (see former posting). I explained the man on the other line my problem with the ON and why I was calling them. ( […]

  2. OOXML: Getting mroe information about the ON « Stefon’s Blog Says:

    […] OOXML: Getting mroe information about the ON For getting background information about this “crusade” of mine you can read the former post. […]

Leave a Reply

