note to myself: compiling qt and installing as local user

I’ve decided to build kde4 trunk on my computer again. For this, one of the first steps was to get qt 4.8 running. As the debian repositories only contained qt 4.6, I had to build and instal qt for myself. I created a user named “kdedev” and a build and src directory in his home directory.

  • get the QT sources and place it under /home/kdedev/src :  git clone git://anongit.kde.org/qt
  • Change into the result qt directory and configure qt: .configure -no-phonon -prefix <where/I/install/Qt>
  • make
  • make install

voila, you have your working qt trunk installed in the home directory of a local user account…

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

