Confused with all the buzzwords and the JavaScript landscape?

InfoQ.com has a nice summary about how the JavaScript ecosystem looks right now (2016).

If you have previous programming experience but are a newcomer to frontend JavaScript development, the array of jargon and tools can be confusing. Without getting bogged down in detailed discussion, let’s take a general survey of the current “JavaScript landscape”. This should orient you sufficiently to start your journey into frontend development.

The articles touches everything from:

  • How does client-side JavaScript work, and why use it?
  • What’s a framework? Do I need to use trendy.js?
  • Should I be writing JavaScript, or something else? What kinds of JavaScript exist?
  • How do I use other people’s code?
  • Do I need Node.js?
  • What are my build tools?
  • How do I test my code?
  • So how do I get started?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

